Nashville Marijuana Charges Attorney
While the legality of marijuana is a controversial debate around the country, Tennessee still criminalizes both the possession and sale of the drug. Despite cannabis’ classification as a Schedule VI drug in the state—meaning there is a low risk for addiction and abuse—any marijuana charge is subject to costly fines and possible jail time. These criminal charges can have a detrimental impact on future employment opportunities, child custody cases, and admission into higher education programs. The criminal justice system does not treat drug charges lightly, but your arrest does not automatically equate to a conviction. Prosecutors must provide evidence beyond a reasonable doubt that you knowingly possessed the drug and an officer with a search warrant must legally obtain that evidence.
Regardless of this burden of proof, you will need a skilled Nashville marijuana charges attorney to fight the allegation levied against you. Even small amounts of marijuana can warrant jail time depending on the circumstances of your arrest. At Horst Law, our legal team has a comprehensive understanding of the state’s ever-changing marijuana laws and can mount an effective defense that may reduce your penalties to probation, community service, a drug treatment program, or dismiss your charges altogether.
Penalties for Marijuana Charges
In Tennessee, simple possession and casual exchange (without payment) of up to half an ounce of marijuana carry the same penalty. Possession is generally a misdemeanor, while sale is a felony. The penalties for marijuana possession and casual exchange are:
- First and second offenses – Misdemeanor – Up to one year imprisonment – Max fine $2,500
- Third and subsequent offenses – Felony – 1 to 6 years imprisonment – Max fine $5,000
Marijuana sale is criminalized more severely than possession, with all convictions considered a felony. The penalties for sale of marijuana include:
- Up to 0.5 oz. – One year imprisonment – Max $2,500 fine
- 0.5 oz. to 10 lbs. – 1 to 6 years imprisonment – Max $5,000 fine
- 10 lbs. to 70 lbs. – 2 to 12 years imprisonment – Max $50,000 fine
- 70 lbs. to 300 lbs. – 8 to 30 years imprisonment – Max $200,000 fine
- 300 lbs. or more – 15 to 60 years imprisonment – Max $500,000 fine
Penalties increase if the marijuana is within a drug free school zone, or if the drug is sold to a minor. While some of the above penalties include a minimum jail sentence, a plea could lessen the severity of these charges and prevent jail time. However, you will need the counsel of a skilled drug attorney to negotiate a plea bargain.
Contact a Marijuana Charges Attorney
Drug charges can be scary to address; your future is in an uncertain place because of these allegations and contending with the anxiety about your arrest can be overwhelming. At Horst Law, our resourceful marijuana lawyers have years of experience effectively representing clients facing drug-related charges and can fight aggressively for your interests. Don’t hesitate to contact our Nashville offices today at (615) 403-2971 to discuss your case in further detail.