Nashville MDMA and Ecstasy Charges Attorney
MDMA, also known as Ecstasy, is classified as a Schedule I drug in Tennessee. This means MDMA is regarded under the law as “highly addictive” and “serving no medical purpose.” It is classified as such with other drugs the law deems dangerous, despite analysis from medical experts who believe the minimal use of MDMA is not harmful. Law enforcement takes the drug very seriously as a result, and the penalties that could follow being caught with the drug are extremely harsh. That’s why it’s important to equip yourself with the best possible team of defense attorneys to work on your case. At Horst Law, we understand the stress you’re under, are well-versed in the law, and know there are many viable defenses.
In Tennessee, police officers are known to aggressively pursue dealers and even recreational users. The penalties, in either case, are severe and will drastically affect your life, so get in touch with an attorney on our team as soon as you can.
Penalties for MDMA/Ecstasy Possession
A person who “knowingly” possesses or casually exchanges the controlled substance would be found guilty of simple possession of MDMA. This is a Class A misdemeanor. The penalties associated with it are much lower than a felony charge, which occurs when a person knowingly sells, delivers, or manufactures ecstasy. The punishment will vary according to the amount of MDMA in question if the jury finds this to be true beyond a reasonable doubt. Here are some of the charges associated with the felony count:
- Under 26 grams: 8-30 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000 (Class B Felony)
- 26 grams or more: 8-30 years in prison and a fine of up to $200,000 (Class B Felony)
- 300 grams or more: 60 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000 (Class A Felony)
A jury must believe you had the express intent to sell, deliver, or produce the drug in order for you to be convinced of felony sale, delivery, or manufacture. However, felony charges are serious and must be fought by tough attorneys with experience defending their clients against difficult drug charges.
Contact us today!
We understand there is a lot of information surrounding MDMA laws in Tennessee, and the specific details of your case might make the relevant information even more complicated or confusing. If you have been charged with an MDMA-related crime, you need a competent attorney you can trust on your side. We have experience successfully defending our clients on drug charges, and we will work hard to do the same for you. Contact Horst Law today by calling (615) 403-2971 to discuss your case.
MDMA and Ecstasy Charges FAQs
What are the various penalties associated with MDMA and ecstasy charges?
The penalties associated with MDMA and ecstasy charges depend on the amount of the drug found in your possession at the time of the arrest, and if it was “simple possession” or possession with the intent to sell, deliver, or manufacture the drug. The first two convictions of simple possession or casual exchange of MDMA or ecstasy will result in a Class A misdemeanor, up to a year in jail, and up to a $2,500 fine. However, if you are charged with possession with intent, penalties will be upgraded to felony charges. Anything under 300 grams is classified as a Class B felony with jail time between eight and 30 years, and anything over 300 grams is upgraded to a Class A felony with a maximum penalty of up to 60 years in prison. MDMA and ecstasy charges, regardless of the level of your charge, are serious charges that can permanently alter the lives of those convicted. A skilled criminal defense attorney is your best option to get your charges dropped and your life back on track. For more information, please contact Horst Law at (615) 403-2971 today.
What happens to multiple offenders of simple possession?
For your first two charges of simple possession, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and may be subject to jail time of up to one year and $2,500 in fines. For third time and subsequent offenders of simple possession, your charges will be upgraded to a Class E felony, a fine of up to $3,000, and one to six years in a state prison. In addition, for repeat charges of simple possession, a judge may grant you a harsher sentence, so it is more important than ever to have a skilled and aggressive criminal defense attorney fighting for your rights. For more information about MDMA possession or to set up an appointment with any of our expert Nashville MDMA and ecstasy criminal defense attorneys, please contact Horst Law at (615) 403-2971 today.
What should I do if I have been charged with MDMA possession?
If you have been charged with MDMA possession, it is imperative to seek the counsel of a skilled criminal defense attorney. The police may seek information from you at the time of your arrest, but it is important to remember not to tell them anything without the presence of an attorney, to prevent possible self-incrimination. MDMA charges can be serious and life-changing, but an aggressive criminal defense attorney can make the difference between jail time and walking free. Do not trust your case or your life to anyone less qualified than the Nashville criminal defense attorneys at Horst Law to personally and professionally take on your case and fight for your rights. For more information contact us at (615) 403-2971 today.